What is Commonwealth Games?

Social Share

Commonwealth Games is a type of sporting event. In which different countries participate. Recently, the Commonwealth Sport were organized in Buckingham, England. In which India has secured the fourth place. Today in this article we will provide you information about Commonwealth Sport.

Also, you will be provided with all the important information related to the Commonwealth Sport. For example, where did these games played at the international level start? Where was it first played? How many types of sports are part of commonwealth Sport? You will get complete information about the interesting facts related to the Commonwealth Sport. Read this article in full for detailed information.

What are Commonwealth Games?

Commonwealth are also known as Commonwealth. It is a multi-sport competition held at the international level. In which athletes from many states of the world / Players participate. The Commonwealth Sport are held once every four years.

Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Sport is an important organization associated with the Games, which is known as the Commonwealth Sport Federation (CGF). This organization i.e. Commonwealth Sport Federation (CGF) looks after the Commonwealth Sport. In addition, the Commonwealth Sport Federation also bears the responsibility of controlling them during sporting events and selecting host cities.

Recently, in the Commonwealth Sport held in Birmingham in the year 2022, our country India was ranked fourth in which Indian athletes won a total of 61 medals. This includes 22 gold, 16 silver and 23 bronze medals. The next Commonwealth Sport will be held in 2026. The 2026 Commonwealth Sport will be hosted by the Australian state of Victoria.

Here’s the history of commonwealth games

Let us now know when the Commonwealth Sport started? For your information, let you know that commonwealth Sport started in the year 1930. The first Commonwealth Sport were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada. A total of 11 nations participated in this Commonwealth Games.

A total of 400 athletes from Australia, Bermuda, British Guyana, Canada, England, Northern Ireland, Newfoundland, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales were included. All these participants participated in sports like athletics, boxing, lone bowl, rowing, swimming and wrestling in the then time. Let us know that at that time only 6 games mentioned here were organized.

Over time, the number of games in the Commonwealth Sport has also increased and at present the number of games has increased to 20. The First Commonwealth Sport held in the year 1930 were the first British Empire Games. After which the names of these games have been changed many times. Which you can read in the following table –

British Empire Games1930 To 1950
British Empire and Commonwealth Games1954 To 1966
Commonwealth Games1970 To 1974
Commonwealth Games1978 To Now

As you learned from the table above, the current Commonwealth Sport were known as the British Empire Games in the early stages (from 1930 to 1950). The Commonwealth Sport is the first fully inclusive international multi-sport event, considered a global multi-sport event before 2018. Both men and women play in these games. In addition, athletes who are disabled are also included as full members in the national teams.

Let us now tell you where and how the Commonwealth Sport started? In fact, the concept of the start of the Commonwealth Sport came from an event held in London in the year 1911. The Inter-Empire Championship was held as part of an event called Empire Festival. From where the Commonwealth Sport started, inspiration came. Later, the first Commonwealth Sport were held in 1930. This event was organized in Hamilton, Canada under the name of British Empire Games. The credit for its beginning goes to Melville Marx Robinson.

Over time, some changes were made for the development of the Commonwealth Sport in the 20th and 21st centuries. Such as the creation of the Commonwealth Winter Games for snow and ice sports for Commonwealth athletes, the Commonwealth Paraplegic Games for disabled Commonwealth athletes, and the Commonwealth Youth Games for Commonwealth athletes aged 14 to 18 years. After some time, due to World War II, the 1942 and 1946 Commonwealth Sport were canceled.

List of games included in the Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Sport will feature various competitions. In these multi-sport competitions, players from different countries participate as a contestant. Medals are awarded to the winners of the competition in all sports according to their performance. For example, the first place player is awarded a gold medal, the second-placed contestant is awarded a silver medal and the third-placed player is awarded a bronze medal.

  • Swimming
  • Athletes
  • badminton
  • boxing
  • hockey game
  • Lawn Bowles
  • Net ball (for women only)
  • Rugby Sevens
  • Squash
  • Weightlifting
  • Archery
  • basketball
  • gymnastics
  • Rowing
  • Softball
  • cycling and
  • Table Tennis.

Countries participating in the Commonwealth Games (List of competing countries and territories in Commonwealth Games)

A total of 11 countries participated in the Commonwealth Sport initially and currently 72 countries participate in this game. Whose names you can see in the list included in the Commonwealth Sport given below:-

  • Anguilla
  • Antiguya and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Iswatini
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Granada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Man Island
  • Jamaica
  • jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lisoto
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Niu
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Ireland
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Seychelles
  • Serra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Helena
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Tanzania
  • Gambia
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Wales
  • Zambia

List of Commonwealth Games held so far

202623Victoria (Territory)Australia 
202222BirminghamEngland27 Jul – 7 Aug
201821GhanaAustralia4-15 Apr
201420GlasgowScotland23 Dec- 3 Aug
201019DelhiIndia3-14 Oct
200618MelbourneAustralia15-26 Mar
200217ManchesterEngland25 Jul -4 Aug
199816Kuala LumpurMalaysia10-20 Sep
199415VictoriaCanada18-28 Aug
199014ScotlandNew zealand24 Jan -3 Feb
198613EdinburghScotland24 Jul-2 Aug
198212BrisbaneAustralia30 Sep -9 Oct
197811EdmontonCanada3-12 Aug
197410ChristchurchNew zealand24 Jun -2 Feb
197009EdinburghScotland16-25 Jul
196608KingstonJameka4-13 Aug
196207PerthAustralia21 Nov -1 Dec
195806CardiffWales18-26 Jul
195405VancouverCanada30 Jul -7 Aug
195004ScotlandNew zealand4-11 Jaunbery
193803SydneyAustralia5-12 February
193402LondanEngland4-11 August
193001HamiltonCanada16-23 August

Commonwealth Games FAQs

Q1. What is commonwealth games?

Commonwealth Games are also known as Commonwealth Games. Players from different countries participate in this game. It’s a kind of sports competition. Which is held every four years under normal circumstances.

Q2. How many games are there in the Commonwealth Games?

In the year 2022, there were 283 competitions for 20 sports in the Commonwealth Games.

Q3. Where was the first Commonwealth Games held?

The first Commonwealth Games were held in Hamilton, Canada in 1930.

Social Share

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *